RSS

The Savvy Authorpreneur Presents: Author Cheri Cowell

05 Jun

 Recently I had the pleasure of connecting with Author Cheri Cowell. She has published two books so far, Direction: Discernment for the Decisions of Your Life (Beacon Hill Press, 2007) about spiritual discernment and knowing and following God’s will in tough times, and See For Yourself, a 52-week devotional. She is gearing up for her third book release and we thought it would be great to show her some support, both on TSA and on my Christian Books Today blog.

RC: Hello Author! What’s your name?

CC: Cheri Cowell

RC: What do you write and why? (Genre, novels, short stories, screenplays, poetry?)

CC: I write about the deep questions of faith using stories, personal experience articles, non-fiction books, and Bible studies.

RC: Do you read the same genre that you write? Why or why not?

CC: I usually read a non-fiction and a fiction book at the same time. One is to stretch and grow and the other is to have fun or escape.

RC: What is the title you are promoting right now?

CC: Parable and Word Pictures from the New Testament is a workbook-style Bible study in the popular Following God Bible study series.

RC: What is it about?

CC: Most studies of the parables cover the forty or so stories Jesus told, but in my research I learned we are missing much when defining the word parable so narrowly. In my study we cover 118 New Testament parables.

RC: What makes this book different from others in your genre?

CC: In addition to the parables Jesus told, I also cover the ‘word pictures’ Jesus used such as when He called Himself the Good Shepherd who lays down His life for His sheep. I also cover the many ‘parable sequels’ created by Paul and the apostles to extend the parables from the Master.

RC: What’s the story behind the story? (What inspired you to write your book?)

CC: In 2009 I was chosen by the Israeli Ministry of Tourism for a Christian Journalist’s Tour of the Holy Land where the parables and stories from the Bible came to life for me. I came home with a passion for others to hear the parables as they were taught, with the knowledge and insight I’d gained from walking where Jesus walked.

RC: What is your goal as an author?

CC:To help the reader see their own lives as a living parable, meant to be read by others who in how we live our lives see a glimpse of the Ultimate Living Parable–Jesus the Christ. I pray my study will help people see the parables as our how-to manual for becoming a story shaped by the Greatest Story ever told, ever lived.

RC: Are you working on anything new? Give us a preview of what’s to come!

CC: I’m working on two projects: one is a book on what the church might be if it were to truly become a living parable. The other is a historical fiction project I’ve held close for over 25 years and I finally think I’m ready to do it justice.

RC: Where can readers find you and your work?

CC: www.CheriCowell.com, Amazon, your local Christian bookstore, and http://www.amgpublishers.com

RC: What is the most important advice you have for aspiring authors?

CC: Attend a Christian writer’s conference. I attended two a year for many years where I built relationships with editors before getting my first book contract. I am convinced my second and third contracts came from these early relationships. Writers are at writers’ conferences.

RC: Is there anything else you’d like to say before we finish up?

CC: I have a new YouTube video promo for my new book and I filed it before live sheep. What fun! I’d love to have your comments, it can be viewed HERE.

RC: Awesome, thanks for allowing me to interview you! Readers, Comment below to be entered into a random drawing for Cheri’s Gift Basket. It includes:

  1. Parables and Word Pictures from the New Testament (workbook Bible study) by Cheri Cowell
  2. Women of the Bible: Book One (workbook Bible study) by Barber, Rasnake, and Shepherd
  3. Mocha on the Mount (Coffee Cup Bible study) by Sandra Glahn
  4. Direction: Discernment for the Decisions of Your Life by Cheri Cowell
  5. Direction Bible study workbook by Cheri Cowell
  6. God: Knowing Him By His Names by Bill Bright
  7. See For Yourself: Daily Devotionals (ebook DVD) by Cheri Cowell
  8. Bible tabs
  9. Bookmark
  10. Bible highlighter
  11. Hunter Green gift basket


 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
