RSS

Stop Talking About Your Book, Start Talking About Your Passion

21 Mar
Stop Talking About Your Book, Start Talking About Your Passion

My attention was recently brought to a discussion in the Author U group on LinkedIn, and it highlighted one tip that sometimes I think we as authors forget (or misinterpret): Stop Talking About Your Book!

Now, I know someone is thinking “If I don’t talk about it, how will they know?“, or maybe they ask themselves “How else will I make my book stand out?“.

To those thoughts, and any similar thoughts I respond: “What if potential readers are so turned off by your tactics that they don’t even give your book a chance?

We have all seen them: groups on Facebook filled with flyby promotions. Groups that ONLY these authors are visiting just to drop off their latest promo. Authors, you should know that your readers have left the building. Besieged by promotion after promotion with no dialogue, they have blocked or left this group and you are not promoting to anyone. Remember the other authors aren’t active either, they just want to drop a line about their latest soon-to-be best-seller.

Promote Your Passion

Elwood Billshot, author at Toolnet.us and a fellow Author U mate says this about how you can more effectively promote your book:

Many engaging comments in a variety of groups and conversations will generate interest in you as a person. Eventually this becomes an interest in your work.

The key to promoting your book is not Spam, it’s about relationships. If you are not sure where the line is, I recommend you read The Unbreakable Rules of Marketing: 9 1/2 Ways to Get People to Love You by Cathey Armillas to fully understand what I mean. The relationships you create with fellow authors and readers is what will generate the interest you need and the sales you want. It’s a journey, it takes commitment, and as Elwood also says, “It’s all about persistence and attrition.”

Talk about why you chose this subject, what about it is near to your heart. People can connect to your passion and your ideas, if you let them in. Readers enjoy books because it gives them something to focus on, enjoy, and escape. Your conversations should be similar: give them something to focus on, allow them to enjoy their interactions with you, and then they may choose to “escape” with a book written by you, an individual who has proven to be interesting. This personal relationship can also make a lifetime fan and an influencer of your book.

A Personal Note…

I met Liv Warfield on my first Girls’ Night Out in Portland. She sang. I mean she SANG! Loved it. I got to talk to Liv after, and she was so friendly I just had to give up my $5 for her CD. I saw Liv Warfield often after that, I went to shows and I visited her store. I dragged my husband and every friend I knew to see Liv, and when her Prince-approved album The Unexpected came out I bought my copy immediately and I promote her every chance I get. To me, Liv Warfield is better than Beyoncé or Taylor Swift because she is REAL! I met her, I see her often and Liv Warfield is always friendly, so I feel like I know her. I also know others who have provided their stamp of approval from their encounters with Liv. It’s all about relationships.

Your Passion Makes Your Book Come Alive

This doesn’t mean you pass up the opportunity to strategically drop a promotional post in the appropriate sections of a group, and some will encourage this. Just remember that when everyone is selling, few are actually buying. As Judith Briles, The Book Shepherd says, “It takes deep, down passion to make a book come alive… it doesn’t matter if it’s fiction or nonfiction.”

What’s your Passion? Post a quick, blatant promo for your book or service here!

RCarter-EventRochelle Carter is the CEO/ Publisher at Ellechor Media LLC, an award-winning book publishing company. She is the author of The 7-Step Guide To AuthorpreneurshipWrite Success: Inspirational Quotes For The Authorpreneur, and Becoming An Author: Your Quick Start Guide to a Successful Book Launch, three books she put together to help educate and motivate authors based on her experiences with publishing and her own authors.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Stop Talking About Your Book, Start Talking About Your Passion

  1. Elwood Billshot

    March 28, 2014 at 1:13 PM

    Rochelle: Thank you so much for the Exposure, every little bit counts. Now about that Promo: visit .. .. http://www.outskirtspress.com/toolnetdotus .. .. or .. .. http://www.toolnet.us .. .. for audio and video previews of: .. .. Toolnet.us Interactive .. .. ………………………………………………………………………….
    Description: Adventure comes to life in the American Southwest with the Arrival of Elwood and Billshot to the mountainous country surrounding Los Alamos New Mexico. Recruiting as their guide the young French/Cherokee Dream-Walker: Claude BlackBear to aide in the search for people with Mad-Skills in a World gone nuts. Our Hero’s may be introduced to a whole new Reality. Picking up new friends and bad habits at every turn the social network threatens to swallow them alive. With lives at stake and an uncertain future, Betrayal lies in wait.

     
  2. Elwood Billshot

    June 27, 2014 at 6:00 AM

    Rochelle Carter: Thank you so much for the added Exposure. I just hope I can return the favor in some fashion. The highest complement that comes to mind right now, is to Share your content with other members of LinkedIn. Best of Luck in all your Endeavors. :-}

     
  3. Elwood Billshot

    June 27, 2014 at 6:19 AM

    Ok, so I thought of a few more sites to share you with. Hope the added exposure on Google & Tumblr draw some traffic for you Rochelle Carter !!

     

Leave a Reply

 
